VCR Recording Popping Audio Problem

likeomgman

Hello! I recorded some footage on a VHS-C Tape and am trying to digitize it using a USB 2.0 dongle. For everyone else the audio comes in great but for me there's these super loud popping/crackling noises and I cant get rid of it no matter what I do. Those sounds are not on the original footage only when I try to convert them do they show up. Not sure if its a settings problem or a hardware/dongle problem. Hoping someone here can help me fix this. Thank you!

Logs: https://obsproject.com/logs/L-UKfvXSZFCW2T9q (I hope these are the right logs)

Video in question: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v_MaX80htUU

Dick Dawson

I have some audio experience in life and things like this can happen when the computer is having to go from say 16 bit 48 on one source and maybe 24 bit on another. I would suggest going into control panel, the old one, and set all of your audio sources to the same bit and sample rate. 16 bit 48 (DVD quality) will do you good IMO. That sound on the YT video does kind of have a bad driver thing going on maybe as well. Would be worth trying a different one.

likeomgman

I have some audio experience in life and things like this can happen when the computer is having to go from say 16 bit 48 on one source and maybe 24 bit on another. I would suggest going into control panel, the old one, and set all of your audio sources to the same bit and sample rate. 16 bit 48 (DVD quality) will do you good IMO. That sound on the YT video does kind of have a bad driver thing going on maybe as well. Would be worth trying a different one.
So it seems like the dongle I use records in 96000hz and OBS is at 48000hz. The mic is locked at 96000hz and obs highest is 48000hz so im not really sure what to do now. The logs say its because of a Mismatched Sample Rates.
1665079275569.png

Dick Dawson