New to OBS, need help understanding how to use it

pschmehl

I'm very new to OBS. i have created videos by creating separate scenes for each thing that I want to display. I see people on Youtube who can make browsers appear and disappear, switch between a full view of the creator to a small window in the corner, even an oval or round one, display graphics on the screen and then have them go away and make others appear.

I hope I've described this well enough I've been doing a ton of searching and reading, but I can't figure out how to do this.

This is a good example of what I'm trying to figure out. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QZSe1hLbKB0

If you watch just the opening few seconds of this video, the creator begins with a full-screen browser window, switches to a graphic he created, and then appears with the same video on the left, and him on the right with his headphones and mike. Can that be done using OBS? I suspect it can and I just don't understand how.

I also can't seem to figure out how to get a browser source to fit to screen.

If you want to see what I've done to this point, you can view this video: https://youtu.be/AShWCz5VFuY

In this video, I begin by discussing what I want to talk about using a scene with Audio Input Capture and Video Capture Device. I then have to switch to a new scene where I'm also using the same sources plus the Slide Show Source which I advance manually.

What I would prefer to do is simply begin the video and then have the graphics appear on the screen at the desired time and disappear from the screen once I've completed the discussion of them.

Am I trying to work at cross purposes to the way that OBS is designed?

Lawrence_SoCal